Leave a comment

Dating tales: The Lost Soul – an oldie but a goodie!

Back by popular request here’s a classic dating tale for you; The Lost Soul

“Well for quite a number of years now I have been compiling my tales of a single girl and after leaving a multitude of friends in stitches with my after dinner stories of dating disasters it’s about time they were published…

So here’s the first anecdote for you and I really wish it was fiction…I like to refer to him as the Lost Soul

His profile looked great on paper…works in technology; enjoys the great outdoors; enters triathlons; likes to travel; no kids or ex-wife; looked quite handsome too.  We chatted online before speaking on the phone and we seemed to get on well so we arranged to meet for a drink which was when it all went wrong!

We were supposed to meet at 7pm at a local pub chosen because it was on a major main road so easy to find and in fact only a straight road from the motorway junction he’d be coming from. 

At 7.05pm I received a message from him saying he was lost near a shopping centre and after asking if he had passed a supermarket he couldn’t remember.  We finally deduced he hadn’t driven far enough down the straight road so told him he was a 5 minute drive away.

I decided to head inside and nip to the toilet whilst waiting.  15 minutes later he phoned again to say he was lost and didn’t know where he was but was near a supermarket and a large church.  I asked for road names or signs but he wasn’t sure saying he’d park up to have a look then he’d call me back.

Decided to order a drink while I waited for his call; another 20 minutes passed so I texted him and he then phoned to say he had been given directions by a Imagepedestrian but had got lost again!  I asked him why he didn’t just bring up google maps on his phone for him to reply saying he didn’t own a smart phone.  How many people who work in technology do you know who don’t have smart phones?

I then figured out where he was and gave him directions again he was approx 5 minutes away if you were to walk the  distance rather than drive so I waited.  I waited for another 15 minutes and still no sign of him so decided to leave as it was now 8pm.  As I was pulling on my coat he phoned to say he was walking through the doorway here at last!

He apologised profusely and offered to get the drinks in so thought I’d give him a chance.  He explained that as he had had a long journey he needed to nip to the toilet first before proceeding to wander aimlessly around looking for the toilets despite the 3 large signs with arrows in prominent positions.  Is it bad that I couldn’t help laughing?  Mr Bean does a first date!Image

Anyway then I felt sorry for him as he told me all about a woman who he’d met in a country pub in middle of nowhere (he couldn’t remember the name of the town) and said she got a text message  during their date.  There was an emergency at home and she had to go however he was to wait right there as she’d be back.  She never did return and as he retold this tale his eyes filled up, his bottom lip wobbled and so I felt like I had to stay longer than I’d planned.

I asked him how someone who works in technology doesn’t have a smart phone or satellite navigation system.  He then explained he worked in the technical department at a large department store and when I mentioned him being a gadget nerd – an expert on computers and HD televisions. He said they were too advanced and that he sold small appliances; he knew everything there was to know about toasters and microwaves.”

Photo courtesy of Stuart Miles‘s portfolio is: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=2664

Second image by Arvind Balaraman‘s portfolio is:http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=1058

Third image by photostock‘s portfolio is:http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=2125

Leave a Reply

